Catch or No Catch

Here is an interesting play for you to review. I suggest you read it until you come to STOP HERE. There is additional spacing so you do not see the correct call. Make your call and then compare it to the correct call. This is an actual play from one of our Community College games in 2016. Thanks to Steve Boudreaux for sending this play.
No runners on base with 2 outs. The batter hits a hard line drive back to the pitcher. The pitcher attempts to catch the ball with her glove but it deflects off her glove to her pitching hand, injuring some of the fingers on her pitching hand. Unable to control the ball with her pitching hand, the pitcher finally controls the ball by pinning the ball between her wrist and her hip. The pitcher controls the ball in this manner for several seconds (about 6-8) while walking around inside the pitching circle in obvious pain.
The batter-runner runs to first base, touches first base, then seeing the pitcher walking around in the circle with the ball still pinned between her wrist and hip, turns and heads for the dugout (the offensive team was in the first base dugout). Just as the batter-runner is about to enter the dugout, the pitcher lifts her pitching arm and begins shaking it, apparently due to the pain. As she does this the ball falls to and hits the ground.
Both umpires clearly see the entire play as described above.
o As the plate umpire what should you do, what call(s) should you make, and when should you make the calls?
o As the base umpire what call(s) should you make, and when should you make the calls? what should you do?






Plate umpire: no call or signal until the ball hits the ground, then a “no catch” signal indicating there was not a legal catch. In this game the plate umpire held off giving any signal because until the ball fell to the ground the pitcher could have eventually made a legal catch by grabbing it and possessing it in her glove, pitching hand, or a combination of both.
Discussion point – could you possibly make a safe signal after a few seconds to alleviate any possible confusion? It is not a catch yet and you can always then signal “out” if the pitcher eventually puts the ball in her glove or hand without dropping the ball first. Discuss this with your fellow umpires.
Base umpire: seeing the play and observing his partner he waits until he sees the plate umpire give the “no catch” signal at which time the base umpire gives an “out” signal, calling the runner out for abandoning her base.