November 2021 Test
November 2021 Test
November 2021 Test Quiz
Please sign up for the
before taking this quiz.
The batter attempts to avoid being hit by an inside pitch. In doing so, she leans forward, stepping on the ground out of the batter’s box with part of her foot to catch her balance. The bat is still on her shoulder but the barrel, which is behind her head, contacts the pitch that then rolls into fair territory.
A. The ball is dead and the batter is out. If there are base runners, they must return to the bases occupied at the time of the pitch. The batter need not show intent to contact the pitch when contact is made.
B. Delayed dead ball. After completion of the play the defense has the option to take the result of the play or a strike on the batter. The batter need not show intent to contact the pitch when contact is made.
The runner on first base leaves on the pitch when the batter foul tips a third strike. The pitch pops out of the catcher’s glove and is caught with her open hand. The plate umpire, who is blocked out from the bare-hand catch, immediately calls a foul ball which leads the base umpire to instruct the runner to return to first base. The defensive coach comes out and asks the plate umpire to go for help which he does and finds out the base umpire clearly saw the play as a foul tip, not foul ball. The plate umpire then reverses the call to foul tip thus resulting in the batter being declared out and allows the runner to advance to second base since the catcher made no play. Is this correction allowed?
A. No. Once the ball was declared dead (foul ball) AND because this was not a situation where the foul ball could be changed to a dead ball award, the result should have been foul ball and the base runner returned to her base occupied at the time of the pitch.
B. Yes. Asking the partner for help is part of “Getting the Call Right”.
With two outs and two strikes on the batter, the runner on first base is thrown out attempting to steal second base. The defense properly appeals the checked swing so the batter is declared out on strikes.
A. The batter becomes the third out for both scoring purposes and establishing the next batter.
B. The runner from first base that is thrown out attempting to steal second base becomes the third out for both scoring purposes and establishing the next batter.
With a runner on first base and one out, the batter strikes out swinging, but the catcher drops the pitch. The plate umpire calls the batter out. Seeing the dropped pitch, the batter runs to first base, while the runner from first base runs to second base. The catcher looks to second base, double pumps and then throws to first base just after the retired batter steps on the base. At the end of the play, the defensive coach argues for batter interference on the already retired batter so the runner, now on second base, should be declared out.
A. The plate umpire rules that the retired batter is guilty of interference and declares the runner on second base out.
B. The batter is out on strike three and the ball is live allowing the runner to advance at her own risk. The defense is responsible for knowing the rule and should concentrate on the runner who is advancing rather than the batter who was already declared out.
A slapper hits the pitch and drops her bat to run to first base. As the ball is bouncing up and the bat is falling down (out of the batter’s hands), they collide in the air over fair territory.
A. Since the bat was not on the ground, it is assumed to have hit the ball. Therefore, the ball is dead, the batter is out and any runners would return to their bases at the time of the pitch.
B. Since the bat was not in the batter’s hands, it is assumed that the ball hit the bat. Therefore, the ball is live.
The batter swings at a pitch which then goes directly from her bat to the toe of her front foot which is entirely out of the box in the air. Her back foot is completely within the lines of the batter’s box.
A. Because the batter’s only contact with the ground is her back foot, which is within the batter’s box, it is a foul ball, strike.
B. The ball is dead, the batter is out regardless of if the ball becomes fair or foul.
Is the infield fly rule in effect even if no umpire calls it?
If a ball is hit that would otherwise meet the definition of an infield fly, but is not declared, it is an infield fly in NCAA play.
B. If a ball is hit that would otherwise meet the definition of an infield fly, but is not declared, it is not an infield fly in NCAA play.
There’s a runner on second base and a right-handed batter at the plate when the pitch is thrown inside, bounces in the dirt and is blocked by the catcher in the batter’s box where the batter is standing. The batter steps out of the batter’s box (towards the dugout) because the pitch and the catcher are at her feet. The catcher picks up the ball and attempts to throw out the runner advancing to third base. On her throw, the catcher contacts the batter (who is clearly out of the box), which causes the throw to be too late to throw out the runner. Is this interference?
A. The batter was trying to get out of the way of the catcher. Interference is not ruled in this case on the batter.
B. Although it is unfortunate that the batter was trying to get out of the way of the catcher, she is still charged with interference on this play. Interference can be intentional or unintentional as it is in this case. Interference is ruled in this case on the batter.
With runners on first and third bases, the catcher attempts to pick off the runner on first base after a called third strike. The batter, although not entitled to run, runs to first base in fair territory and, while completely out of the batter’s box, prevents the first baseman from catching the throw.
A. Delayed dead ball is signaled. The defense may choose the result of the play or the penalty for the interference.
B. Immediate dead ball. The runner on first base is declared out on the retired batter’s interference and the runner from third base is returned there.
With a base runner on first base, the batter swings and misses. On her backswing, the bat accidentally contacts the catcher who is attempting to make a play on the base runner. The contact occurs inside the batter’s box.
A. The ball is live and there is no interference unless the contact by the bat is judged intentional.
B. The ball is dead and the batter is declared out for interference.
September 2021 Test
December 2021 Test
November 2021 Test
Type and Press “enter” to Search
Content is protected !!