November 2022 Test
November 2022 Test
November 2022 Test Quiz
Please sign up for the
before taking this quiz.
R0-No outs. Groundball to F6 who throws late to F3 causing her to stretch out for the catch, pulling her foot slightly off of the base as the batter-runner touches 1B. U1 signals “off the bag” and “safe”. The defense coach asks U1 to get help from PU on the pulled foot.
A. U1 is required by CCA Manual to get help from the crew when asked by a coach.
B. U1 is required by Rule to get help from the crew when asked by a coach.
C. U1 clearly saw a pulled foot and used approved signals to communicate their call. Going for help on this play is not required.
R0 with a 1-2 count, the batter swings and misses the pitch for strike three. The pitched ball deflects off of F2’s glove and rolls toward the backstop along the third base side of home plate. F2 fields the ball and throws to F3. The batter-runner runs the entire distance to 1B in fair territory. As the batter-runner is one step from 1B, she makes contact with the glove of F3 just as the ball is about to enter her glove.
A. PU is responsible for this running lane interference call
B. U1 is responsible for this running lane interference call.
C. PU and U1 have concurrent responsibility for this running lane interference call
R2 with a 1-1 count, F2 attempts to pick off R2 at 2B. The ball, F6 and R2 all arrive at 2B at the same time blocking U1’s view of the play. R2 is called safe. The defense coach asks U1 to go for help on the call.
A. U1 must confer with the crew when asked by the coach to go for help
B. U1 is not required to confer with the crew when asked by the coach to go for help.
C. U1 should stay with their call as no other umpire would have had a better view of the play.
R1 with a 2-0 count and one out. The pitcher delivers an illegal pitch and R1 leaves early. The batter lines out to F3 who then steps on 1b for the double play.
A. The offense receives the first choice of the result of the play (double play) or the penalty for an illegal pitch (return the runner to 1B, award a ball to the batter). The offense chooses the penalty for the illegal pitch, which becomes the new result of the play.
B. The defense receives the choice of the new result of the play (illegal pitch- return R1 to 1B, award a ball to the batter) or the penalty for leaving early (“no pitch” is declared, R1 is out, the batter remains at bat with a 2-0 count and two outs). Whatever the defense chooses becomes the final result of the play.
C. A and B
An umpire is urged to seek help when their view is blocked or positioning prevents them from seeing crucial elements of a play. An umpire is also encouraged to seek help in instances when they have any doubt and a partner has additional information that could lead to the proper ruling.
No umpire shall criticize or interfere with another umpire’s decision, unless asked by the one making it; however, if there is a misinterpretation of a rule, it should be brought to the attention of the calling umpire and entire crew.
(2-umpire system) R1 with a 2-0 count, no outs. R1 steals on the pitch and the throw from F2 is high and over the head of F6 covering the play at 2B. R1 sees the high throw and without breaking stride touches 2B and immediately advances toward 3B.
A. U1 must immediately recognize the high throw over the head of F6 and run hard to a calling position for any play on R1 at 3B
B. PU must recognize the high throw over the head of F6 and move to a calling position for any play on R1 at 3B.
(2-umpire system) R3/R2 with less than 2 outs. Fly ball hit to the outfield and caught.
A. If R3 stays at 3B or advances to home plate, PU is responsible for all calls on R3
B. If R3 advances to home plate and R2 advances to 3B and the throw is to 3B, PU is responsible for the call at 3B on R2
(2-umpire system) R3/R2/R1 with less than 2 outs. Fly ball hit to the outfield and caught.
A. PU is responsible for all calls on R2 at 3B if the initial throw goes to 3B
B. PU is responsible for all calls on R2 at 3B even if the initial throw goes to home plate
Crewness is the essential and fundamental ability of the umpire team to communicate and work together to serve the game of softball and the student athlete. Crewness requires planning, communication, game management tools, ability to learn from others, leadership and hard work.
In the top of the fifth inning, a coach from the visiting team notifies the umpire that the home team has one of its athletic trainers videotaping with a hand-held tablet camera from the dugout.
A. The umpire allows this activity to continue as the videotaping is being done by an athletic trainer, not a player or coach.
B. When brought to the attention of the umpire by a coach, the umpire shall warn the violator(s) and the head coach. If the violator(s) does not immediately comply, the head coach shall be ejected (if within the facility). If the head coach is not within the facility, the violator shall be ejected
During a prolonged inning, an assistant coach initiates a second conference in the same inning with the same pitcher without making a substitution. The opposing head coach informs the plate umpire that the pitcher must be removed from the pitching position for the remainder of the game.
A. The plate umpire ejects the assistant coach
B. The plate umpire removes the pitcher from the pitching position.
At the start of the bottom of the first inning, the visiting team uses a uniformed player not listed in the lineup to throw ground balls to the infielders while the pitcher is throwing warm-up pitches
A. The defense is allowed any number of players including the pitcher throwing and catching more than one ball in the infield, with any number of players in the outfield throwing and catching. The umpire(s) allow this action to continue.
B. The defense is allowed not more than four players and the pitcher throwing and catching one ball in the infield, with any number of players in the outfield throwing and catching. The umpire(s) shall warn the violator and their coach for the first offense in the game. For a second offense in the same game, a ball is awarded to the batter. For a third offense in the same game, the head coach is ejected.
In a game being played with a light drizzle, the shortstop receives the thrown ball from the outfield after a base hit. The ball is noticeably wet. The plate umpire calls time to exchange the wet ball before it is returned to the pitcher. All runners have stopped running and are on their respective bases.
A. It is required by rule that the pitcher must have secure possession of the ball while in the circle for an umpire to grant a team time.
B. It is not required by rule that the ball be in the circle for an umpire to grant a team time. Umpires routinely call time for a wet ball once it is returned to the infield - it need not be in the pitcher’s possession in the circle. Certainly, more discretion should be used when the defense requests time and there are runners as the offensive team could look to take advantage of the look back rule. If the offensive team requests time, they have essentially indicated they intend to conclude action.
Bottom of the 7th inning, tie game. With one out and bases loaded, the batter hits a fly ball that is caught. The runner on third base leaves on the first touch of the catch, the runner on second base stays in contact with the base, the runner on first base leaves before the caught ball is touched. The runner on third base scores easily ahead of the throw to the plate. The catcher immediately throws to first base appealing that the runner on first base left her base before the caught ball was touched.
A. The base umpire rules on the appeal and calls the runner out for the third out. The plate umpire negates the apparent run.
B. The base umpire rules on the appeal and calls the runner out for the third out. The plate umpire signals that the run scores on the timing play. The game is over.
In the top of the first inning with bases loaded and two outs, the pitcher strikes out the batter with a 3-2 count. The offense immediately informs the plate umpire that the defensive team inaccurately listed their catcher on the lineup card.
A. The plate umpire brings the last batter back up to bat with a 3-2 count. Both throwing and receiving a pitch are considered having made a play. The offensive coach may bring the error to the attention of the umpire and request nullification of the results of the last pitch at any time.
B. The batter remains out. The pitcher or catcher are not considered to have made a play until a pitched ball has been batted and a play is made on a runner or batter-runner.
Bottom of the seventh inning of a tied game with no baserunners and no outs. #4 hits an out-of-the–park home run, but misses home plate. She accepts her teammate’s congratulations at the plate and hugs several players. The catcher, who had not vacated her normal fielding position, now appeals to the plate umpire that the runner missed home plate
A. #4 must be given an opportunity to complete her base running responsibilities before the plate umpire rules on the dead-ball appeal.
B. Since #4 had clearly completed her base running responsibilities, and by celebrating with her teammates displayed to the umpire no immediate intention of returning to touch home plate, the plate umpire rules #4 out on the dead-ball appeal.
With one out and base runners on second and third bases, the batter flies out. The base runner on third base tags up after the catch, but the base runner on second base does not. The base runner on third base clearly crosses home plate before the ball is played at second base for the third out. The umpire does not allow the run to score. The offensive coach immediately protests the call at second base.
A. The questions as to whether the base runners left their bases before the catch and whether the play at second base was made before the base runner on third base crossed the plate are solely matters of judgment and are not protestable. However, it is a misapplication of a playing rule and a proper subject for protest if the umpire fails to allow the run to score on the timing play.
B. Runners leaving their bases before a catch and whether plays made for the third out of an inning before a base runner crosses the plate are protestable.
The defensive head coach notifies the plate umpire that the DP (#3) will pitch for the Flex (#20), reducing the number of players in the lineup to nine. Later in the game, that coach wants to enter a substitute (#13) into the Flex position and have her pitch, increasing the number of players in the lineup to ten. The DP (#3) will return to playing offense only
A. The umpire notifies the coach that the starting Flex (#20) must first be re-entered before substitute (#13) can be entered into the Flex position.
B. The umpire allows the change without first re-entering the starting Flex (#20).
In the second inning, the Flex (#32) enters the batting order for the starting DP (#25) to run the bases. In the fourth inning, #25 re-enters the game to hit and receives a walk. #18 replaces #25 as the runner on first base. In the sixth inning the coach wants to re-enter #25. The plate umpire does not allow this substitution.
A. The player in the Flex position may move into the DP spot any number of times. The DP is not charged with a substitution.
B. The DP is charged with a substitution when they are not doing what they are designed to in the lineup. When the DP is out of the batting order the player will be charged with a substitution. The team may return to 10 players in the lineup as long as an eligible sub enters the game as the DP. The player in the Flex position may move into the DP spot any number of times.
A player enters the game in right field but is unreported. The opposing coach quietly asks the plate umpire if the player was reported.
A. The umpire should answer the question and then rule on the unreported/misreported player.
B. The umpire should answer the question and then ask the coach if they are bringing it to the attention of the umpires for action or not. If the coach does not want action now, it can be brought up later for the advantage of their team.
In the top of the 6th inning, the defensive head coach does not report substitute #39 as the new pitcher. The pitcher throws three pitches to the leadoff batter who swings and misses at all three for a strikeout. Before the first pitch to the next batter, the offensive coach reports to the plate umpire that #39 is an unreported substitute
A. The unreported player (#39) is declared officially in the game. The offensive team has the option of taking the result of the play or having the leadoff batter return and assume a count of 0-2.
B. The unreported player (#39) is declared officially in the game, and all play will stand
With a runner on second base, the first baseman (#8) plays directly behind second base (up the middle) and the defense doesn’t position anybody in the first baseman’s traditional position. On a ground ball up the middle, #8 fields the ball and throws out the runner from second base advancing to third base. The offensive coach informs the plate umpire that the defensive change was not reported rendering #8 as an unreported player.
A. By rule, the first baseman can be positioned anywhere in fair territory. This is a positioning issue rather than a reportable change. #6 is not an unreported player.
B. This position change must be reported to the plate umpire. #6 is an unreported player.
With runners on third and first bases and one out, right fielder #53 catches a batted fly ball. The runner at third base legally tags up and attempts to score. The runner at first base leaves before the caught fly ball and is put out on the throw from #53 (F9 to F3) after the runner from third base scores. The offensive coach immediately reports to the plate umpire that #53 is not on the opposing team’s line-up card and also was not reported as a substitute. The plate umpire confirms both of these things to be true. The offensive coach does not want the result of the play.
A. #53 is an Illegal Player. The batter returns and assumes a 1-1 count. No out is recorded on the play. #53 is administratively ejected. Both runners are returned to the bases they were on at the time of the pitch.
B. #53 is an Illegal Player. The batter returns and assumes a 1-1 count. No out is recorded on the play. #53 is administratively ejected. Both runners are awarded one base.
The batter, #12, hits a double scoring the runner from second base. The ball is returned to the pitcher who takes the pitch signal while not in the proper pitching position. The plate umpire calls an illegal pitch. The defensive coach calls time and informs the plate umpire that #12 is an unreported player
A. #12 is declared officially in the game and is called out. The runner from second base run counts. The batter is awarded a ball on the illegal pitch.
B. #12 is declared officially in the game and is called out. The runner from second base is returned to second base. The batter is awarded a ball on the illegal pitch.
October 2022 Test
November 2022 Test
Type and Press “enter” to Search
Content is protected !!