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Update from SUP 
The SUP has posted a practice test that contains all 160 of the questions used in the 
Preseason Rules Test and has titled it "2011 Full Rules Test (Optional)". Please note that 
this test is for self-improvement and is not part of the postseason eligibility requirements. 
Please go to SUP.ArbiterSports.com sometime this spring, click on the Testing tab, and 
work on improving your rules knowledge with this helpful test.  
 

Mechanics Corner 
Umpire-to-umpire signals - make sure you use them along with your Pre-Pitch 

Preparation.  The "Two Outs" signal is now used any time there are two outs.  As in all 

ump-to-ump signals, it should be initiated by the plate umpire and base umpires should 

respond with the same signal to acknowledge awareness.  See page 282 in the CCA 

manual for more details.     

Dropped 3rd strike signal - this new signal for the plate umpire should be used only 

when the batter-runner is entitled to run and only when: 1) it is not obvious that the 

catcher did not catch the pitch, or 2) there is any confusion with the batter or catcher.  

When the action is so quick that the catcher immediately tags the BR and it is obvious 

what transpired, just another out signal with the "batter is out" verbal is enough.  

However, if the action is slow in developing, slow down your signals!  First - display the 

hammer for the strike, second - verbalize "no catch" as you make the safe signal, third - 

use the point for the tag to separate the final segment then display the hammer for the 

out. 

Manual clarifications - go to the SUP Central Hub and click on Manual Clarifications on 

the left side of the home page to find more valuable mechanics clarifications.  These 

include information on walking the line, force outs at second base, when to call and/or 

signal foul, and when to set. 

Game management Tips 
Tip for the month - how to handle the "hit-and-run" or "sniper" coach.  You have all met 

this coach who says something inappropriate as she/he is walking away from you.  

Maybe they said it loud enough for others nearby to hear and maybe not.  But clearly 

what was said was so inappropriate that it really should not be tolerated. It certainly would 

not be tolerated if said to your face.  Since it was not said to your face and since going 

after them as they walk away makes you look like the aggressor to everyone else…try 

this instead. 

  

Turn to your partner, hold up a hand and clearly and loudly say "partner we have a 

warning to coach for unsporting conduct".  This will let everyone including the "sniper" 

know that what they have said is inappropriate and will not be tolerated.  If the coach then 

turns back to you to make yet another inappropriate remark…you eject them because 
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clearly now they are the aggressor and need to be held accountable for inappropriate 

behavior. Alternatively, you have sent the message and the coach now knows that he/she 

does not get a free pass on inappropriate behavior just because they are walking away. 

Updated bat list 
Remember to sign into the SUP Central Hub at least every 3 days to check for an 
updated bat list.  You should also get into the habit of checking the site for new rule 
interpretations, CCA Manual corrections and clarifications, and other important 
information about college softball. 

 

Rules Corner 
Defensive Conferences 

  

 

In memory...Mike Carver 

 

 

 

 
 Debbi Lauderback and Smokey Edds 

Although the pictures to the left do not 

represent defensive conferences, it is 

important for you to know how to 

administer this rule.   

When there are no pitching changes it 

is a simple rule - one per inning.  

Make sure you write it down and tell 

the coach he/she was charged with 

the defensive conference.  

Last month we almost had a protest 

because the umpire did not tell the 

coach.  When the coach wanted to 

take another conference and the 

umpire would not allow her to do so, 

the coach stated she was not told that 

her previous communication with the 

catcher was a charged conference. 

The umpire told the coach she did not 

have to inform the coach, which could 

have led to a protest.  

It becomes more difficult when 

pitching changes are involved.  The 

defense is granted an additional 

defensive conference if the relief 

pitcher has not yet pitched in the 

inning.  This applies to every pitching 

change in the inning.  Scenario: 

coach asks for time to talk to his 

pitcher.  If in the same inning the 

coach now wants to remove the 

pitcher, he must inform the umpire 

before he crosses the foul line.  After 

changing the pitcher he can now take 

another conference in the inning. 



  

 

Illegal player or unreported sub? 
Player #2, who is in the 3rd batting position in the lineup, is on first base.  The coach 
reports to the umpire that #20 will replace #2.  #20 thinks she is supposed to bat so she 
goes into the batter's box.  #2 steals 2b on the first pitch and now the opposing team 
appeals to the umpire for an improper player.  Is #2 an illegal player or an unreported 
sub?  It depends. 
 
Break down the situation into its elements.  Does #2 have a legal right to be in the game 
in the 3rd batting position after the substitution has been made?  If she is a starter who 
has not yet had a sub replace her, then she may reenter in that spot in the lineup, which 
is the lineup spot for the runner who was at 1b before the pitch.  Since that is still where 
she is then she has a legal right to reenter in that spot.  She is an unreported sub. 
 
What if she is a starter who had been replaced earlier in the game and then reentered?  
This would be her second reentry (unreported, but still a reentry), so she does not have a 
legal right to be in the 3rd lineup position any more, and she is an illegal sub.  If #2 was a 
substitute in the game she would also be an illegal player as subs do not have reentry 
privileges. 
 
Thought for next time…now what do you do with #20 who is still standing in the batter's 
box with a 1-0 count? 
  

What’s Your Call? 
Play: F8 is injured while trying to make a diving catch.  There is a suspension of play 

while the trainer checks on the player.  During this time the defensive teams' assistant 

coach comes onto the field and talks strategy with the infielder and the head coach of the 

offensive team talks strategy with his runners and batter.  Is this legal? 

Ruling:  It is not as simple answer. If a player is injured or apparently injured, an umpire 

should accompany the team representative to determine if this stoppage of play is indeed 
for injury.  Discussions on strategy or coaching should not take place during this 
"discovery time" and the opponent should be prevented from using this time as well.   

If the discovery time noted above is brief and ends in no medical attention needed, use 
your judgment as to if both teams can use the time during the suspension.  The criteria 
here is no unfair advantage to either team.  Common examples where no coaching 
discussions would be allowed are a player getting to her feet and dusting herself off or 
catching her breath for a few seconds.  

However if it is an obvious injury where the umpire will beckon the medical staff, or if 
determined above as an injury requiring some intervention, then  while the injured player 
is being tended to, both the offense and defense can use the time to talk strategy without 
it being a charged conference.   

Once the medical staff is done, if either team wants to continue their conversation, advise 
them that they may however it will then be a charged conference. 

 

 

 

 



Recent Rules Interpretations 
Question Rule 3.3.2 We were told at our clinic "do not start the game until there is an 

approved bat list provided by the host institution". Our question is two-fold: if 
the host school is using multiple sites who brings the bat list or lists? How 
long do we wait, if we do wait, for them to provide the list before declaring a 
no contest. If we are not to start the game without a list where a can this be 
supported in the rules or memo 

Answer 
Rule 3.3.2 REQUIRES the host to provide a printed copy of the approved list 
to the field as opposed to the previous requirement to provide the ASA non-
approved list.  As to how long to wait, hopefully this is just a theoretical 
question because if the host does not provide the list, perhaps the visitors or 
the umpires have one present.  Although not required to provide one, either 
or both might have one as a safety net to avoid delay or having the game 
declared no contest.  But, to your question as to how long to wait if no one 
has one on-site, that's up to the umpires.  If you have a press box, perhaps 
a list can be obtained there.  If someone has a smart phone, the list can be 
accessed through it pretty quickly.  But it will be up to the umpires and sport 
administrator to determine how long the wait would be to obtain a list from 
further away and if the game will still be played.  Obviously, we want as 
many games as possible to be played but umpires should NEVER take on 
the liability of playing a game without having the bats appropriately 
reviewed. 

 

Question The batter runs toward first base after strike three when the catcher catches 
the pitch (and the umpire declares her 'out') and draws a throw by the 
catcher to the first baseman. Is it the catcher's responsibility to know the 
batter is 'out' or is this interference and is the runner closest to home called 
out? 

Answer It is the catcher's responsibility to know that the batter is out on strike 
three but she is entitled to throw to any base to keep a base runner close 
or attempt a pick off.  It would not be interference unless she does 
something to interfere with play (like providing a screen so the first 
baseman could not return a throw home to prevent a runner on third from 
scoring or interfering with a pickoff throw to 1b).   

   
 

 

 

 

 

 


