The rule for a batter-runner or runner abandoning a base is slightly different than other codes. From the NCAA Softball Rules Book (once the batter becomes the batter-runner she remains the BR until she is put out or all action stops): Batter-runner: considered to have abandoned a base or effort to run the bases by not proceeding to first base
On 11/28/18 the NCAA Softball Rules Editor released an official interpretation for Rule 12.4, and Case Book plays A.R 12-35 and A.R. 12-37. Revised Interpretation for Rule 12.14 A pitcher may not violate a pitching procedure to dupe runner(s) into leaving the base early. This act violates the spirit and intent of Rule 12.14.2 and makes a travesty of the game.
Why do we have a pitcher’s circle in softball? If you watch a Major League baseball game on TV, you will notice that the players and umpires call a lot of time-outs – almost every time a pitch hits the ground or after ball four, as well as when the ball is thrown back into the infield after a hit.
Pitcher’s possession of ball in circle The look-back rule comes into play after the ball has been hit and the play appears to be coming to a completion. This rule is also important in determining when a play is over 1) the ball is in the circle in the possession of the pitcher and 2) all runners, including the batter-runner,
Runners must be aware of when the pitcher has gained possession of the ball inside the circle. There is a difference in the codes with regard to the runners’ obligations: • ASA, NFHS, USSSA – if runners are moving between bases when the pitcher has possession of the ball in the circle, they may continue going toward that base, stop