January 2024 CCSUA Qualification Test Quiz

Please sign up for the course before taking this quiz.
  1. The CCA Manual offers in-game guidance regarding movement of the umpire to a primary position. The most important part is being in a position to see the ball, base, defender and runner.2
  2. Base umpires must choose a starting position that will not interfere with a fielder, that looks engaged and ready for play, and be alert to an outfielder asking you to move or alter your position.2
  3. The purpose of using the holding area between home and third base is for the plate umpire to decide when to commit to an eminent play. Commit to the third base or home plate only when a play will be there. If at any point and/or after committing to a play the ball is over thrown or gets away, the umpire should move to a position to keep all elements in front of them. This may mean coming inside the diamond for a play at the plate.2
  4. When there is potential for a look back rule violation and the runner advances in legal fashion, the calling umpire may not use the safe signal to indicate they saw the play and the runner is allowed to advance.2
  5. If an umpire feels tackiness on the ball or a coach or player complains to the umpire that the ball is tacky, the ball will be removed from the game. The umpire will give the pitcher a warning for using an illegal substance and notify the head coach. In addition, a ball will be awarded on the batter.2
  6. Base umpires starting in fair territory (not on the line) are not required to go set prior to their responsibilities of leaving early or an illegal pitch.2
  7. It is preferred that the plate umpire move their mask to their right hand when signaling fair or delayed dead ball with their left hand.2
  8. The new time between pitches mechanic has the umpire using their right hand to tap their left wrist held at or above shoulder height.2
  9. Starters and all substitutes must be present, in uniform, in the dugout area, and available to play at the start of the game in order to be listed on the lineup card.2
  10. R3/R2/R1. The batter hits a ground ball back to F1. F1 throws to home plate for the force out of R3. F2 then attempts a throw to 1B. BR is not running in the runner’s lane and is hit by the throw, interfering with the fielder at 1B ready to receive the throw.2
  11. R1 leaves legally on the pitch. The pitch is bunted towards F3 who fields the ball and approaches BR to make the tag. BR stops as R1 rounds 2B and heads towards 3B. As F3 goes to apply a tag, BR steps back toward home plate in an attempt to allow R1 to reach 3B.2
  12. The pitcher is in the proper pitching position. She looks at her signal arm band or to the catcher who, by her hand/arm movements, apparently gives the pitcher the signal. The pitcher then repositions her stride foot by moving it to another position, brings her hands together and begins the pitch.2
  13. A fielder makes a shoestring catch and immediately lifts her glove in the air over her head to show the umpire that she has possession of the ball. As she does so, the ball trickles out the palm of her glove and lands on the ground.2
  14. A team representative initiates a second conference in the same inning with the same pitcher without making a substitution.2
  15. Team A has a runner at 2B. Team B is taking a charged player to player defensive conference.2
  16. Teams are allowed a maximum of 90 seconds between half innings and at the start of the game for warmups. During this time, the pitcher is allowed to throw any number of warmup pitches; the pitcher may only throw to first base once.2
  17. No count on the batter. The pitcher has had possession of the ball for 11 seconds and is taking the sign. The batter, who was in the left batter’s box quickly steps directly in front of the catcher to the other batter’s box before the pitcher separates the hands to begin the pitch. The plate umpire shall call time immediately, give the timing violation signal, and assess a strike on the batter.2
  18. After a slide, a runner lying on the ground with a face full of dirt requests time from the umpire. The umpire shall not grant time until the ball is returned to the pitcher in the circle.2
  19. After receiving the signal, the pitcher’s hands must come together in view of the plate umpire for not more than five seconds. The hands do not have to come to a complete stop and, therefore, may be moving during the touch.2
  20. The first batter of each half-inning may only take warm-up swings in foul territory closest to their own dugout.2
  21. A team presents a lineup card to the plate umpire with first and last names of all players listed at the bottom of the card. The batting order portion of the lineup lists only the first names of players. This is acceptable if no two players have similar first names.2
  22. If a team has co-head coaches, both coaches are allowed to leave the dugout to question plays with an umpire2
  23. If an assistant coach leaves the dugout to question a judgment play with an umpire, they shall be immediately restricted to the dugout for the remainder of the game.2
  24. R1 and No outs. The plate umpire gives the wrong count as 3-2. The next pitch is a ball causing B1 to walk and R1 to advance to 2B. The umpires confer and determine that the correct count is now 3-2 after that last pitch. Which of the following is true?2
  25. A Batter with both feet within the lines of the batter’s box is hit on the hand by a high pitch that is out of the zone and over home plate. The batter made no attempt to avoid being hit by the pitch.2
  26. While pushing off from the pitcher’s plate, both feet may disengage from the playing surface as long as they remain within the 24-inch width of the pitcher’s plate and do not create a replant of the pivot resulting in the pitcher being farther away from the pitcher’s plate. Pushing off with the pivot foot from a place other than the pitcher’s plate resulting in the non-pivot foot becoming closer to home plate is illegal.2
  27. The pitcher has 20 seconds from the time they receive the ball from the catcher to separate their hands and deliver the pitch. The catcher must be in the catcher’s box and the batter in the batter’s box within 10 seconds after the pitcher receives the ball in preparation to pitch or after the umpire calls, “Play ball.”2
  28. In a hit-and-run situation, R1 takes off on the pitch. The batter hits a fly ball to the outfield. R1 touches 2B and is on the way to 3B as the outfielder makes the diving catch. The outfielder throws to 1B to appeal the runner leaving early but the ball goes into the dugout. The runner was between 3B and 2B when the ball left the outfielder’s hand.2
  29. R1/R3, 1 out. The batter hits a ball deep into the outfield which is not caught. R3 scores. R1 misses 2B and arrives safely at 3B. The batter-runner misses 1B and arrives safely at 2B. The defense appeals both missed bases. Does it matter in which order the defense appeals the missed bases with regard to negating the run scored by R3?2
  30. On a play at 1B, BR is called safe by U1. Thinking they were out BR obviously jogs back toward the dugout. As BR approaches the dugout opening (but does not enter the dugout), the base coach shouts for BR to go back to 1B. BR sprints back to 1B and safely returns without being tagged.2
  31. R3 only. The batter receives ball four and begins walking to 1B. The ball is immediately returned to the pitcher in the circle. Before the BR touches 1B, R3 steps off of 3B moving back and forth attempting to draw a throw from the pitcher. As soon as the BR touches 1B, R3 immediately returns to 3B. This is a violation of the lookback rule and R3 is called out.2
  32. R2, 1 out, 1-2 count. R2 leaves early on the pitch and safely advances to 3B after the batter makes contact with the ball with one foot on the ground outside the batter’s box (illegally batted ball), resulting in a base hit. The defense does not choose the result of the play.2
  33. Bases loaded, 2 outs. The batter gets a base hit to the outfield that scores R3 and R2. R1 misses 2B and heads towards 3B. After R3 and R2 have touched home, R1 is thrown out at 3B for the third out. The defense immediately appeals R1 missing 2B.2
  34. A pitcher may wear sleeves that, by manufacturer design, can be worn on her hand over her thumb.2
  35. R3/R1 1 out. The batter hits a fly ball that is caught. R3 leaves on the first touch of the catch, R1 leaves before the caught ball is touched. R3 scores easily ahead of the throw to the plate. F2 immediately throws to 1B appealing that R1 left the base before the caught ball was touched.2
  36. A starter is wearing uniform number #7 and is listed correctly in the handwritten lineup (first and last name, with #7). However, the pre-printed roster has the player as #8 on the bottom of the card. If the player makes a play on defense and the opposing coach brings the discrepancy to the attention of the umpire before the next pitch, which is the correct action to take?2
  37. No runners, no count on the batter. The pitcher throws an illegal pitch. The batter hits the ball to the outfield and misses 1B on the way to a stand-up double. The defense immediately completes a live ball appeal and the umpire calls the BR out for missing 1B.2
  38. In the fourth inning, the defense fails to report that a legal substitute (#22) is now playing F6. #22 makes a spectacular catch to rob the batter of a base hit. The defensive coach immediately reports to the plate umpire that they forgot to report #22 in the game and wants to do so now.2
  39. The pitcher is in the proper pitching position required for a legal pitch with the stride foot behind the pitcher’s plate. After taking the signal, the pitcher slides the stride foot forward to be in contact with the pitcher’s plate and then brings the hands together. The catcher urgently requests “time” that is granted by the plate umpire. Is this still an illegal pitch?2
  40. In the second inning, F6 (#14) is warned for a rounding obstruction. Later in the game, F6 (#14) is warned for a returning obstruction.2
  41. R3, 2-1 count, 1 out. F9 (#23) catches a fly ball. R3 tags up and scores. The offensive coach immediately reports to the plate umpire that #23 is not on the opposing team’s line-up card nor was reported as a substitute. The offense does not accept the result of the play.2
  42. R1 only. The batter hits a ground ball in the infield. After fielding the ball, F4 is in possession of the ball in their glove/mitt and runs toward 2B. F4 dives at the bag and touches the glove to 2B ahead of the runner in an attempt to force out R1. Immediately after the glove/mitt touches the base, F4 loses control of the ball.2
  43. F3 obstructs the baserunner diving back into 1B on a pick-off play. U1 rules obstruction on F3. In addition to obstruction, the umpire must issue a warning to the offending individual and notify their coach.2
  44. In the top of the third inning, the defensive head coach comes onto the field to speak to an umpire about the application of a rule. The defensive pitching coach runs out to the circle to speak with the pitcher and returns to the dugout before the head coach’s discussion is finished. Which of the following is true?2
  45. A player enters the game in right field but is unreported. The opposing coach quietly asks the plate umpire if the player was reported, without mention of bringing this to the umpire’s attention for action. What action should the umpire take?2
  46. The umpires discover that the on-deck batter is swinging a softball bat that has no BCT sticker nor was it presented to the umpires at Bat Check. It is legal to use it in the on-deck circle as long as it is not taken into the batter’s box2
  47. R2 with one out. The batter hits a routine fair fly ball to F6. As F6 is waiting to make the catch between 2B and 3B, R2 makes contact with F6. The umpire calls “dead ball” and rules interference on R2. Which of these is the proper effect?2
  48. R2/R1 with one out. The batter hits a line drive to F5 who lets the ball hit the back of the closed glove and fall to the ground. F5 steps on 3B in advance of R2 for the force out.2
  49. With a base runner on first base, the batter hits a ground ball to the second base player who fields it and throws the ball to second base to attempt a force out. The shortstop covering second base has a foot touching the leading edge of the base and is waiting to receive the throw. The play is close and there is no contact between the base runner and the fielder. This is obstruction for blocking the leading edge of second base2
  50. On a play at a base, the runner slides into the fielder who is not in possession of the ball. However, the fielder was making a legitimate reaction to the trajectory of the ball after it was thrown. This is not obstruction.2
Back to: January 2024 CCSUA Qualification Test
error: Content is protected !!