January 2023 Test – Qualification Test Quiz

Please sign up for the course before taking this quiz.
  1. The coach or catcher is giving defensive signals to the infield while the pitcher is not in the pitching position.2
  2. A fielder makes a shoestring catch and immediately lifts her glove in the air over her head to show the umpire that she has possession of the ball. As she does so, the ball trickles out the palm of her glove and lands on the ground.2
  3. The batter has a 3-1 count and although the next pitch is called a ball, no one acknowledges the base on balls. The next pitch is a foul ball. Before the seventh pitch, the offensive coach asks the plate umpire for the count and it is confirmed to be 4-2. Can the umpire correct the count and award the batter first base even though a pitch has been thrown after the mistake?2
  4. A runner is obstructed sliding into a base but nonetheless reached the base before being tagged. She overslides the base and loses contact with it, and is tagged while off of the base.2
  5. With bases loaded and 1 out, the batter grounds a ball to F6 who successfully makes a short flip to F4 for a force out on R1 and second base. F4 throws the ball out of play beyond 1B. BR is awarded 2B and R3/R2 are awarded home. R2 missed 3B and it is properly appealed. Do any runs score?2
  6. The offense must keep all personnel, except for those directly involved in the situation, in the dugout, bullpen or dead-ball area while the ball is live. These restrictions also apply during stoppages of play, including conferences, pitching changes, substitutions and injuries.2
  7. Defensive personnel, except the nine defensive players on the field, must remain in the dugout, bullpen or team area while the ball is in play and during stoppages of play, including conferences, pitching changes, substitutions and injuries. Personnel directly involved in the stoppage of play (e.g., coaches, medical personnel, substitutes, etc.) are permitted to be out of the dugout, bullpen or team area.2
  8. On an attempted pickoff, the defensive player obstructs the base runner returning to the base.2
  9. The batter has a 2-1 count. The next pitch is delivered, and the batter takes a full swing and misses. The plate umpire calls the pitch a ball. The next pitch is called a ball and the batter is awarded 1B by the plate umpire. The coach for the defense argues the count should be 3-2. The crew gets together, and all agree that the plate umpire called a ball on a pitch even though the batter took a full swing and missed the ball. Can the crew correct the count to 3-2 at this point?2
  10. A bench player is warming up a pitcher in the bullpen. The bench player must wear a helmet while warming up the pitcher in the bullpen.2
  11. #32 for Team A is playing right field. #32 collides with the centerfielder while attempting to make a catch. The head coach for Team A wants to have #32 evaluated by medical personnel immediately. Team A has two players on the bench: #6, who has not yet played in the game, and #27, a starter who was substituted for by #19 and has the right to reenter the game. Under the Concussion Reentry Rule, which of the following are true:2
  12. R2 with no outs. The batter singles to right field. As R2 is approaching home, F2 is positioned waiting for the throw straddling the third base line a few feet up from home plate. F2 ultimately gains possession of the ball with R2 about 10 feet away from F2. R2 does not alter their path or begin their slide.2
  13. A team representative initiates a second conference in the same inning with the same pitcher without making a substitution.2
  14. The pitcher throws the first two pitches to a batter that are called balls. As the ball is returned to the pitcher, an infielder quickly runs to the circle, quickly slaps gloves with the pitcher giving her brief words of encouragement and then immediately returns to her position.2
  15. After a spectacular defensive play by F6, F5 and F4 go over to slap gloves with her.2
  16. Team A has a runner at 2B. Team B is taking a charged player to player defensive conference.2
  17. The head coach for Team A has a charged defensive conference with pitcher Jones and returns to the dugout. The coach comes out later in the same inning and replaces Jones as the pitcher with Smith. Smith had not previously been in the game. One batter later the head coach wants to have a defensive conference with Smith.2
  18. Teams are allowed a maximum of 90 seconds between innings and at the start of the game for warmups. During this time, the pitcher is allowed to throw any number of warmup pitches; the pitcher may only throw to first base once.2
  19. Once the game has started, a bat not presented in the umpire’s pregame inspection is discovered in the game or dugout. The coach explains a player who arrived from class after the game began brought the bat with her.2
  20. Starters and all substitutes must be present, in uniform, in the dugout area, and available to play at the start of the game in order to be listed on the lineup card.2
  21. R1, with 1 out, 2-2 count. R1 leaves early on the pitch and safely advances to 2B after the batter makes contact with the ball with one foot on the ground outside the batter’s box (illegally batted ball), resulting in a base hit. If the defense does not choose the result of the play, which of the following is true?2
  22. The first batter of the game hits a fly ball to deep right field near the foul line. As she is rounding first base, she is obstructed by #7 (F3). The batted ball is not caught and lands foul.2
  23. R3/R1, with 1 out. The batter hits a fair ball down the line that rolls all the way to the home run fence. R3 apparently scores, R1 arrives safely at 3B, but misses 2B and BR misses 1B, and safely slides into 2B. The defense appeals the two missed bases, but does it matter which order they appeal in order to negate the run?2
  24. The pitcher, catcher and batter all assume their respective positions in preparation for play. For no apparent reason, the batter leaves the batter’s box and the pitcher does not pitch.2
  25. The pitcher is in the proper pitching position. She looks at her signal arm band or to the catcher who, by her hand/arm movements, apparently gives the pitcher the signal. The pitcher then repositions her stride foot by moving it to another position, brings her hands together and begins the pitch.2
  26. R2/R1, with no outs, 1-1 count. #22 (F9) catches a batted fly ball, and R2 legally tags up and attempts to advance to 3B. R2 is put out on the throw from #22. Before the next pitch, the offensive coach reports to the plate umpire that #22 is not on the opposing team’s line-up card and also was not reported as a substitute. The plate umpire confirms both to be true.2
  27. R1 is stealing 2B on the pitch. Prior to being in possession of the ball, F6 is partially blocking 2B. R1 slides and contacts the leg of F6, who then catches the ball and tags R1 before R1 reaches the base.2
  28. R3/R1, with a 1-1 count. On the pitch R1 attempts to steal 2B and the pitch is called a ball. The plate umpire interferes with the catcher’s attempt to throw R1 out at 2B. R1 stops running and F6, who caught the thrown ball, begins to chase R1 back towards 1B. R3 breaks for home.2
  29. With a 2-1 count, the batter is hit by a pitch. She obviously tried to get hit by the pitch that is entirely in/over the batter’s box.2
  30. The pitcher has neither foot in contact with the pitcher’s plate and looks at her signal arm band or to the catcher who, by her hand/arm movements, apparently gives the pitcher the signal.2
  31. R2/R1, with no outs, 1-2 count. Each base runner leaves her base before the pitcher releases a legal pitch and are both safe at the next base. The pitch was called strike three. The defensive coach opts to take the effect for leaving early.2
  32. The batter has a 3-1 count and although the next pitch is called a ball, no one acknowledges the base on balls. The next pitch is a foul ball. Following the foul ball, the seventh pitch is a called strike for strike three. The offensive coach immediately requests the plate umpire award the batter the base on balls she had previously earned, thus negating the strike out.2
  33. R3/R2/R1, with 2 outs. In the bottom of the seventh inning of a tied game, the batter singles to right field. The R3 scores and R1 joins in the celebration rather than advancing to 2B.2
  34. On a batted ball to F6, F2 who is not in possession of the ball, obstructs R3 advancing towards home. Before the throw from F6 is even close to F2, R3 remains on her feet and with excessive (flagrant) force collides into F2.2
  35. Early in the game on a fly ball to right field which is eventually caught, BR rounding 1B is obstructed by #5 (F3). A warning for rounding obstruction is issued to #5, and her head coach is notified. Later in the game, #5 again obstructs BR rounding 1B on a caught fly ball to center field.2
  36. R2/R1, with no outs. The batter is a slapper who runs out of the front of the batter’s box where she is hit by an illegal pitch. What is the result if she does not swing?2
  37. R1 leaves legally on the pitch. The pitch is bunted towards F3 who fields the ball and approaches BR to make the tag. BR stops as R1 rounds 2B and heads towards 3B. As F3 goes to apply a tag, BR steps back toward home plate in an attempt to allow R1 to reach 3B.2
  38. R2 leaves too soon on a caught fly ball. As the defense is making a live ball appeal at 2B, R2 is obstructed while returning to attempt to tag up.2
  39. R3/R2/R1. The batter hits a ground ball back to F1. F1 throws to home plate for the force out of R3. F2 then attempts a throw to 1B. BR is not running in the runner’s lane and is hit by the throw, interfering with the fielder at 1B ready to receive the throw.2
  40. The pitcher is in a legal starting position on the pitcher’s plate. After taking the sign, the pitcher, with her hands still together, rocks backwards and slides her pivot foot forward but never loses contact with the pitcher’s plate. Her hands separate and she then pushes and drags her pivot foot forward as she delivers the pitch.2
  41. On a ground ball to F6, her errant throw to first base pulls F3 up the line toward home plate. F3, who is not in possession of the ball but is attempting to catch the throw, contacts the BR who is in the runner’s lane and has not yet reached first base.2
  42. In the first inning, #15 (F3) is issued a warning for returning obstruction and her head coach is notified. Later in the game, #15 impedes the progress of R1 legally leading off 1B on the release of a 1-0 count pitch. The pitch is called a ball, and the catcher attempts a pick-off on R1 at 1B where #15 tags R1 out.2
  43. Two-umpire mechanics: R2/R1, with no outs. U1 does not cover a fly ball to the outfield that is caught.2
  44. Which factors are used by an umpire to determine if a batter has swung at the ball or checked her swing?2
  45. Two-umpire mechanics: No runners on base and an extra base hit.2
  46. Punch outs may be used on close force plays, tag plays and diving catches.2
  47. Two-umpire mechanics: R3/R2, with one out. U1 does not cover a fly ball to the outfield that is caught.2
  48. When determining if a pitched ball hit the bat or the batter, it is allowable to use an observed mark on the batter to make your decision.2
  49. Two-umpire mechanics: R1 is stealing on the pitch. The throw goes over the head of F4 towards centerfield. R1 sees the errant throw and without stopping advances towards 3B.2
  50. While primarily the plate umpire’s call, base umpires are responsible for observing and giving assistance regarding running lane violations when possible.2
Back to: January 2023 Test – Qualification Test
error: Content is protected !!